Who We Are

Frontera Strategy was founded and continues to support only nonprofits and foundations. We believe that every issue deserves a voice and an opportunity to be heard in the political process. We partner with innovative thinkers interested in expanding access to democracy. A successful advocacy campaign requires more than money, it requires strategy, planning, and the right people.

Jason Sabo is the founder of Frontera Strategy. Jason has developed a straightforward system for helping nonprofits and philanthropists reach their public policy goals. He has led and assisted efforts to pass legislation and secure appropriations at state capitols across the country for more than a decade. Jason knows the issues and politics important to nonprofits and philanthropy, and he knows how to win. He holds a master’s degree in History from Indiana University.

Natalie Smith is a consultant with Frontera Strategy. Natalie draws from her background in communications, law, and government. Natalie began her career working as a legislative aide for U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison. During and after law school, she focused on health law and policy and public interest law. Natalie is an active volunteer in the Austin community and a member of the 2015 Leadership Austin Emerge class. She received her B.S. from The University of Texas at Austin and her J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center.

Lisa Kerber, Ph.D., specializes in providing clients with the information they need to make critical decisions and influence policymakers.  Dr. Kerber supports advocacy efforts by providing  qualitative and quantitative research services.  Her portfolio includes literature reviews, needs assessments and environmental scans, program and policy evaluation,  statistical analyses, and survey research for associations, foundations, and nonprofit service organizations active in state capitols. Dr. Kerber produces professional and effective proposals and reports on time and on budget. She received her Ph.D. in Sociology and Demography from the University of Texas at Austin.